How you can use it to protect your data

0

As a data-driven company, Google collects information about users to help them create better products and services. This can be seen as a double-edged sword, as creating a tailored experience is a challenge without giving up personal data. Even the best Android phones in the market suffer the same fate as they are powered by Google Play Services.


Google lets you control your search history and account data settings using the helpful My Activity feature. An important addition is to automatically delete your Google search history after a certain number of months by default. Before that, you might have years of search history from old devices registered to your account without knowing it. Read on to learn everything you need to know about the My Activity feature.

ANDROIDPOLICE VIDEO OF THE DAY

How to access My Activity from the Google app

There are different ways to find the My Activity feature on Android, and finding these settings is easy whichever method you choose. You can quickly get to your main Google Account page by doing the following:

  1. Open the Google app, then tap your profile icon in the top-right corner.
  2. Under your selected account, tap the Manage your Google Account button. In newer versions of the Google app, the Manage your Google Account the button is called google account.
  3. Press the Data Privacy tab at the top of the screen.
  4. Scroll to History settings section and press the My activity button.

On Google Pixel and Samsung Galaxy smartphones, go to Settings > Google > Manage your Google Account to find the main settings page for your Google account. This location may differ depending on the device manufacturer or Android version, so you may need to do a quick search to find it.

How to access My Activity from a web browser

You can also open the My Activity page in your favorite web browser. This can be done on a computer via the desktop version, or you can use your smartphone and add an icon shortcut to your home screen for easy access.

  1. Visit the main My Activity page in your favorite web browser.
  2. Open your browser’s settings (the three-dot menu in most cases), then tap Add to home screen to create a shortcut. This shortcut feature works with Google Chrome and other supported web browsers.
  3. Faucet To add.
  4. Press the Add to home screen button to place the icon on your home screen. You can also long press the shortcut icon and drop it wherever you want on your home screen.

If you use Google Assistant, say or type “my activity” to go to the main My Activity page in your web browser. Then add the shortcut to your home screen for easy access.

How to use My Activity to manage your Google Account history

Now that you can access the My Activity feature on your device, it’s time to manage your Google Account history settings. The main activity controls page consists of three activity controls: web and app activity, location history, and YouTube history. Go through them individually and select the best preferences for your needs. We break down each of the activity page controls for you in the sections below:

Web and app activity

The Web & App Activity section displays settings related to your web and app search history. Google recommends leaving this setting enabled to improve your overall user experience. This can give you faster search results and improve recommendations for many Google services. Saving your account history can also be useful in certain situations. For example, imagine doing in-depth research on a specific topic. You can quickly view your search history if you want to find it.

Many third-party apps rely on Google Play Services to work, giving them the ability to track you in most scenarios. It’s not just about your web searches. Your actions within these applications can be tracked to some extent. This is usually done to serve you relevant advertisements or to improve an app’s user experience. This is not an intrusion into your personal information. This app data is only recorded in your account history if you enable the optional in-app activity tracking setting.

If the feature is enabled and you want to disable it to strengthen the privacy of your Google Account, follow these steps:

  1. Press the Switch off button to start.
  2. Read the description if needed, then scroll down.
  3. press the Pause button, the setting will be disabled.
  4. Faucet Delete old activitythen select All the time. This removes your previous search history from your Google account.
  5. Select the products whose activity history you want to clear, then select Next.
  6. Faucet Wipe off. Selected services will have their activity history removed from your Google Account.
  7. Hurry I understood to finish.

You can also manage saved history data for each Google service or app by tapping its icon under the View and delete an activity section. You can do this manually for each, giving you even more control over apps and services. This can be useful if you want only a few specific items saved to your account, but not everything.

Each section of Activity Checks has specific settings and automatic deletion frequency options. You can either disable everything indefinitely or select a few useful settings. It is recommended to choose every three months as the automatic deletion frequency.

Location History

Since location history tracking is a sensitive topic, you might be hesitant to use this feature. You must manually enable the location setting for your account. However, activating it has advantages in certain situations. For example, you can get recommendations for places to explore based on your travel history. If you like finding new stores or restaurants, this could be useful at home or while traveling.

Turning Location History on gives you access to Google Maps Timeline, where you’ll see the routes you’ve taken while traveling. You can return to your timeline later and check where you were on any given day, including an estimate of when you visited a location. It’s not something you need to enable on your account, but it’s a nice additional feature to help you visualize when and where you’ve been.

To turn on Location History for your Google Account, follow these steps:

  1. Under the Location History section, press the To light up button.
  2. Read the description, then scroll down.
  3. Press the To light up button to activate the feature for your Google account.
  4. Faucet I understood to end here.

YouTube history

The YouTube History setting saves the videos you’ve watched and keeps track of what you’re looking for. This improves your video recommendations and allows you to pick up videos where you left off. As with any feature that provides a personalized experience, it needs your user data to make everything work together. You can use YouTube with this setting turned off, but you won’t have access to these additional features.

If you value the privacy of these YouTube features, disable them by doing the following:

  1. Under the YouTube history section, press the Switch off button.
  2. Read the description, then scroll down if necessary.
  3. Press the Pause button to deactivate the YouTube history setting on your Google account.
  4. Faucet Delete old activity.
  5. Select All the time.
  6. Watch the preview of what will be deleted, then press the Wipe off button to delete your YouTube search history.
  7. Hurry I understood to return to the main page.

My Activity gives you control of your Google Account search history

The My Activity feature lets you see and manage everything you’ve shared with Google in one easy-to-use dashboard. It’s a welcome addition that helps you decide how much of your data you want Google to access from your account. Google will always need to know at least some information about you for a better user experience when using its apps and services. However, you control how much personal information they can keep tabs on from now on.

If you’re looking to further reduce the amount of data you share with Google, learn the best ways to improve your privacy on any Android phone. Reducing Google’s footprint on your device can give you a little peace of mind, especially when combined with the My Activity feature.

Share.

About Author

Comments are closed.